2014 World Architecture Festival Awards

By ai

March 27, 2014 - May 30, 2014


World Architecture Festival Awards

One of the world’s largest architectural awards programme, World Architecture Festival (WAF), is calling for applications for this year’s awards. The seventh edition of this international event will be held at the Marina Bay Sands resort in Singapore from 1 to 3 October 2014.

The WAF awards are distributed among 28 individual categories. These are:
Completed Buildings: Civic and community; Culture; Display; Health; Higher education/research; Hotel/leisure; House; Housing; New and Old; Office; Production/energy/recycling; Schools; Shopping; Sport; Transport; and Villa.
Landscape Projects: Completed designs – rural and urban.
Future Projects: Commercial mixed-use; Competition entries; Culture; Education; Experimental; Health; House; Infrastructure; Leisure-led development; Master-planning; Office; and Residential.

Architects of each shortlisted project are invited to present their project to a panel of judges. The winners from all categories go on to compete for the ‘World Building of the Year’ award, which is presided over by the festival’s ‘super jury’ panel.

This year’s super jury panel comprises some of the world’s leading architects and designers, including Richard Rogers, Rocco Yim, Julie Eizenberg, Enric Ruiz Geli and Peter Rich.

Speaking about the festival, WAF Programme Director, Paul Finch said, “This year’s awards will yet again demonstrate the tremendous strength and depth of talent of the global architectural community. Many hundreds of entries are expected, with practices of all sizes set to compete across numerous awards category in the hope of securing the festival’s biggest accolade, the World Building of the Year award.”

Apart from the awards ceremony, the festival also hosts conference meets, panel discussions and talks. The theme for this year’s main conference session is: ‘Architects and the City’. Speakers will examine the contribution of architects in other disciplines such as, politics, infrastructure, planning, communities and technology.

Last date to apply is Friday, 30 May.


World Architecture Festival